A Trip to Koh Kong

Posted: April 6, 2008 in My Life, Photos
Tags: ,

I took a Friday off and made a trip to Koh Kong with a friend of mine. Actually he got some businesses to handle there and I just went with him because of my curiosity to see how Koh Kong has changed comparing to my first trip in 2004.

Now the National Road 48, the most greenish and zigzag road in Cambodia, was completely paved with tarmac and four bridges across rivers were constructed, though two of them have not completely finished until this June. The 290 km route takes about five hours from Phnom Penh.

Koh Kong has much less to offer comparing to Sihanoukville, but it is also much less explored. People always want some changes, so I am sure the good access and the nature will attract more and more visitors in the near future. With its coastlines, mountains (especially the Cardamom Mountains) and nature, I believe that Koh Kong can be developed for eco-tourism.


The greenish and zigzag National Road No. 48

The Third Bridge from Phnom Penh. Still Had to Ferry Across the River

Palm Trees Along the River

National Road No 48.

Comments
  1. sophat says:

    Although I have never been there, I think Koh Kong has much more to offer than Sihanoukville, just because of its much larger size and as you’ve mentioned, its unexplored nature. The road there mostly goes tru jungles and not the coast. I believe it will be a very important province for tourism in the future. Just Botumsakor national park is said to be rich in tourism potential. Thanks for sharing the beautiful pictures.

  2. seth says:

    oh why you look so suprised with this kind of view i had been there many time while i work for OGC. koh kong is the best of the best.

  3. Phal says:

    Yeah, I see the potentials of Koh Kong. But sadly if you are beach lover, Sihanoukville is still a better place. I hope that one day i can trek into the Cardamom Mountains.

  4. Sophat says:

    What I meant was that Koh Kong probably also has nice beaches as it has a much longer coastline than Sihanoukville. However, there are no roads to these beaches because road 48 runs mostly through the jungle, so you won’t be able to see any beaches. And certainly the beach at Koh Kong town is probably not very nice as it lies at a delta like area. A place I’ve heard foreigner praise for scuba diving is Koh Samit in Kirisakor district, but there are no roads there. I am a beach lover, of course. Have you been to Koh Russei? That’s close to Paradise.

  5. Phal says:

    I have been to Koh Russie once. Yeah the sea there is crystal clear. There are some basic accommodation there too, though I could not spend a night there. I also have visited Koh Pos and Koh Tonsay and spent a night a the latter one. But I don’t really have any idea about Koh Samit. Yeah, probably here are some good beaches off shore. Foreigners usually drop by Koh Sdach when they take ferry from Koh Kong to Sihanoukville or via versa, but the ferry service is likely to stop when the road and bridges through the jungle are finished, making it much more difficult to reach the island.

Leave a Reply

