Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS3

Posted: July 23, 2008 in Photography
Tags: , ,

A friend of my brother wanted a compact digital camera from Japan, so he asked me to get him one. First I thought of getting Canon Digital IXUS (Called IXY Digital in Japan) for him due to its reasonable price, sleek design and of course its abilities to produce sharp images. As I saw a Don Quijote (ドン・キホーテ), a store famous for selling goods in competitive prices, I went to check it out. Yeah there was IXY Digital 7.1 at the price of less than $150. That is pretty cheap. But I was allured by Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS3 with the price tag of about $200 as its design is even cooler, and what makes it even more attractive was its Leica lens (Leica is a leading German Camera maker considered to be the best on earth, though it is only well-known amongst camera maniacs not ordinary people. I think the main reason is its uncompetitive price). After wavering for a while, I picked up the latter one.

It disappointed me when I learned that there is no language option, as the camera is designed for the use in Japan only. It seems that most of the cameras at Don Quijote are for the use in Japan only. I could not imagine that such a new model camera is monolingual. I have tested it when I went sightseeing in Tokyo, and yeah its result was satisfactory. Having no choice one day before my departure, I went Den Den town, the biggest electronic district in Osaka, and get another Canon IXY Digital 10.0 at discount price of about $240.

Now I still have the Lumix with me. Gotta to find my bud who can read Japanese script and…

Comments
  1. Good luck in finding it, Bang! lolz Oh, I think I know someone who would like to buy it.

  2. Phal says:

    Really? I am thinking of having it myself if I cant find. haha

  3. She’s a friend of mine. Her name is Pok Samnang. Let’s me email to her and enclose your email with, is it alright?

  4. Phal says:

    Thank you for becoming my broker, sis. Does she read Japanese? Yeah, you can give her my email address.

Leave a Reply

