An Evening

Posted: September 21, 2008 in Book, My Life, Photos
Tags: , ,

Yesterday’s evening I had about 2 hours before I had to pick up my girlfriend. After pondering for a while over where to hang around while I was driving my bike, D’s Books popped up in my mind. Then I headed toward St. 240. This time I did not take much time to pick up my books, as there were books on my wanted list. Here are the books I got.

1. A Thousand Splendid Suns, By Khaled Hosseini (A Novel)
2. Eric Clapton, the Autobiography, By Eric Clapton
3. The Street Lawyer, by John Grisham (A Novel)

Luckily I got my camera with me. After getting permission from the shopkeepers I took several shots.

Later, I left my bike at the shop and strolled toward riverside for some more snapshots. But when I passed Kuntha Bopha Hospital, suddenly I wanted to donate my blood as I have not done so after donating blood for the first time at the same Hospital in Siem Reap about three or four years before. In return I got some gifts back (a tee-shirt, a pack of cracker, 2 packs of instant noodle, half kg of sugar, a can of condensed milk, a bottle of water, a can of coke that I drank while I walked back to the bookstore) and some vitamin medicines. There was only 2 persons including me came for donation on that day.

Comments
  1. Brother, I did not know you donate blood! Plus, I did not know that you just could walk in and give away your blood. Oh, bring me to the book shop! I always want go to there. 😉

  2. Phal says:

    It is my pleasure to take you the bookshop. Tell me whenever you need me. Along the street 240, three are many chic boutiques and restaurants. It is a very good place to stroll along, sis.

  3. Phossdey says:

    Oh i will make sure I can do it for the next visit!

  4. angkor138 says:

    Just for curiosity about the procedure. Did Hospital take sample of blood and conduct some test before accpeting us as donner or just jump in and they accept it from us.

  5. Phal says:

    Hi Angkor 138. Blood type and red blood cells (whether it is enough or not) is checked before the donation. Later before applying to patient, it will be checked if it is free from disease or not (HIV, Hepatitis B and C, and other one that I cannot remember but sort of STD). By the way, by the standard, 300 ml of blood will be pumped per donation.

  6. angkor138 says:

    Hi Phal;
    thank you for the explanation re procedure.

    Blood type and red blood cell count are just normal procedures – to lebel on the blood bag.

    It’s good to hear that they actually conduct other test to make sure that donated blood is not contaminated [communicating disease or STD] before admistering to patient[s].

  7. Jacqui says:

    I really enjoyed your photos! I take it you’re from Cambodia…?
    We visited Siem Reap twice in 2006 & 2007. A group of almost 20 of us from Brunei etc… dropped by to donate blood too! Was my 1st time & we really felt great about helping out… felt we could help where money can’t always solve the blood shortage… leaving a little bit of us behind to help the sick ones… : )
    Back in Brunei… we worked with school kids to raise funds for the Kantha Bopha hospital & will be sending it over soon!

    By the way… Brunei’s tag line for tourism is… Kingdom of Unexpected Treasures… ! Rings a bell, eh?

    I was so impressed by the people in Cambodia… really friendly too… made some lovely friends… Hope to visit again !

  8. Phal says:

    Hi Jacqui. First, thank for your generosity by helping Cambodian poor children. I used to donate my blood at Siem Reap Kuntha Bopha too. That was my first donation.

    I hope once day I can visit the Kingdom of Unexpected Treasures too. And hope you are coming here soon. Cambodia is waiting for your visits 🙂

Leave a Reply

