It is the 14th day or the second last day of Pchhum Ben (ភ្ជុំបិណ្ឌ), but it is my first visit to pagoda. And yet taking photo was the sole purpose of the visit. I woke up at 3 am and with a Japanese friend of mine went to Tuol Tompong pagod​a (វត្តទួលទំពូង), the closest one to my house.

There were a few people in front of the pagoda and a couple more inside selling Bay Ben (បាយបិណ្ឌ), special sticky rice to offer to deceased relatives, but there were not many people coming as it seemed to be still early. At about 5 am, the procession, the main event that I want to witness, around temple offering the Bay Ben started. It was leaded by an Achar.

As my lens is not equipped with VR (Vibration Reduction), or what Canon calls Stabilizer, without tripod, it is impossible to produce photos in such a dark place without blurring. That was fortunate that my friend brought a tripod with him; and he decided to take video thought he also brought his DSRL along. Gotta buy one tripod too.


A Lady selling Bay Ben inside the Pagoda.


A Boy selling Bay Ben inside the Pagoda.


Listening to monk chanting inside the dinning hall.


Gathering and listening to chanting by Achar before the procession.


Not only old people, there was many young people as well as children as well.

Comments
  1. Phossdey says:

    Wow!!! I did not know this could look so beautiful. I did not actually get to see it. Too early for me. Brother, they looks so beautiful!

  2. Samphors~* says:

    I’ve never joint this even once. Good for you though your intention was to take picture. Love all the pic, anyway.

  3. YeNG says:

    Yeah, love the shots!

  4. Chorn Sokun says:

    yeah I agree he did catch the motion well, especially the last shot I wonder why some ladies love to dress sexy to pagoda???!!! this suppose to be a festival for the dead and THAT dress is out of context if you ask me or what you think?

  5. I so love the lighting. It’s perfect. Kudos to you, Phal! Keep it up.

  6. […] This was my last thing I wished for yesterday. There was no seller at the main gate as it was when I visited the very same place two years back. Disappointed to see a very few goers, I had nothing much to do but scouting locations for the […]

  7. - Chea Phal says:

    […] This was my last thing I wished for yesterday. There was no seller at the main gate as it was when I visited the very same place two years back. Disappointed to see a very few goers, I had nothing much to do but scouting locations for the […]

Leave a Reply

