Jazz Meets Khmer Traditional Music and Dance

Posted: January 21, 2009 in This & That
Tags: , , , ,

It was the right decision to see the music and dance event organized by the French Cultural Centre at its premise last Saturday. It was a combination of jazz by Louis Sclavis from France, Khmer traditional music by Phare Ponleu Selpak and Khmer Dance by Khmer contemporary dancer Chumvan Sodhachivy, better known as Belle.

It is very interesting to see the use of Khmer traditional music instruments to mix contemporary music. It was a very great mixture. Dance performance by Belle even more impressive. It was very creative to fasten the slow movements of Apasara dancing style in order to accompany the fast tempo music. It was just amazing.

090121atfcc1About an hour before the show began.

090121atfcc2Jazz musician Louis Sclavis and Phare Ponleu Selpak music band.

090121atfcc3Khmer contemporary dancer Belle, a graduate of the Royal University of Fine Arts

Comments
  1. pst says:

    hey Phal!!!

    just info.

    Kimsan is going to get married in PP this Feb. i think u still remember him well(a fellow who went to Kyushu area long ago). i just gave him ur number. he may invite u.

    have a nice day.

  2. tumnei says:

    Yeah I still remember him, though I have not met him for 7 or 8 years, man. Alrite, I am looking forward to hearing from him.

  3. jealous! jealous! Wish I could see it, too. Looks so interesting, especially sitting on the ground … hahahaha fun and unique, eh? I reckon this is the first time to see how they organize such thing. Good good ^_^

  4. tumnei says:

    I am not sure if it was their first time to arrange it, but that was my very first time to be there. hehe…. And yeah I agree that the place is cool. It was a cafe-concert, so you can even make some drink or food orders.

  5. BCTor says:

    Beautiful pics.
    Just drop by to wish you Happy Chinese New Year [whether or not you would celebrate it]

  6. Oh, how much I love that stuff. Make sure when I am in town and if it happened again, please let’s me know!

  7. tumnei says:

    Bctor, Happy Chinese New Year to you too. I am Chinese by blood, but I cannot utter even basic Chinese. hehe.

    Sis, I am sure that you always have very tight schedule when you are here, but I will alert you if there is such an event when you are in town next time.

  8. Samphors~* says:

    This is cool. Count me in when you call my sis😀

Leave a Reply

