Wonderful Tonight: Eric Clapton

Posted: January 31, 2009 in Book
Tags: ,

If you know Eric Clapton, no wonder I am sure you have listened to “Wonderful Tonight.” Released in 1977 in his Slowhand Album, this song came out as the result of boredom he tried to kill while he was waiting for his then-girlfriend Pattie getting dressed to go out to dinner. Womanly, she was not able to decide what to dress even though he was very ready to out.

“Look, you look wonderful, OK? Please don’t chage again. We must go, or we’ll be late,” was what he said before he went downstairs where the song were written.

“Wonderful Tonight” was my favorite. I completely understand its meanings only after reading his autobiography. It is all about his real life, with Pattie in particular.

It’s late in the evening
She’s wonderin’ what clothes to wear
She puts on her make-up
And brushes her long blonde hair

And then she asks me, “Do I look all right?”
And I say yes, you look wonderful tonight

We go to a party
And everyone turns to see
This beautiful lady
walkin around with me

And then she asks me, “Do you feel all right?”
And I say yes, I feel wonderful tonight

I feel wonderful because I see the love light in your eyes
And the wonder of it all is that you just don’t realize how much I love you

It’s time to go home now
And I’ve got an achin’ head
So I give her the car keys
And she’ll help me to bed

And then I tell her
As I turn out the light
I say my darlin’, you were wonderful tonight
Oh, my darlin, you were wonderful tonight

Comments
  1. Wow! That’s really interesting, indeed. No wonder the song is this beautiful. hehehe

  2. Samnang says:

    It is classic, but millions of people still love it, myself included.

Leave a Reply

