New Cambodian Beers?

Posted: February 6, 2009 in This & That
Tags: , ,

Have even seen or tried these beer brands? I fist saw photos of the Phnom Penh beer at VUTHASURF about two months ago. A few days before Chinese New Year, seeing it at a drink shop, I got a case of it home. As I am not a brew hound or whatever, I am no person to rate its taste, but I prefer Angkor Beer. Beer Lao is always my favorite, though.

Cambodias Beers

My first encounter with the Special Beer was in Kampong at a school inauguration ceremony by chance about a month back. I grabbed a can of it and took it which is still now in my refrigerator. But hey, does Special Beer have anything to do with Phnom Penh beer? I guess it does. On the cans of both beers, it reads the very same phrase saying “BREWED & CANNED IN CAMBODIA” with exactly the same character style. However, it is unclear of manufacturing company, since none is inscribed on the can. On the same day of the inauguration ceremony, when I was on the way back to Phnom Pen, I saw a truck of Golden Earth wine (ស្រាផែនដីមាស) loading scores of cases of Special Beer.

Does anyone care to inquire the company if they really are manufacturing these two beers? I am sort of curious about it now.

Comments
  1. borin says:

    I got drunk by those once. It was ok according to me. Considering the price and Cambodian standard of quality.

  2. BCTor says:

    I would not mind to taste this new beers, one day, if I happened to be there. At the meant time, please taste some for me

  3. There should be inscribed where it is produced. That’s product’s standard, isn’t it? Maybe you can start asking from the seller! Let’s me know. I want to know about it.

  4. tumnei says:

    Borin, did you got drunk on the Phnom Penh beer? It is more likely so.

    Bctor, I have only tested a can of it so far. Next time I will test one for you. Hahe. But now beer is no longer my alcohol drinking of choice. I come to like brandy or whiskey, though I am not comfortable with on-the-rocks.

    Sis, will let you know if I find it out. loz…

  5. Bunlin says:

    សួស្តី តើសុខទុក្ខយ៉ាងណាដែរសព្វថ្ងៃ?

  6. ផលិតផលថ្មីនេះនឹងចូលរួមចំណែកបង្កើនការស្រវឹងទូទាំងទីក្រុងតែម្តង។ ទីក្រុងខ្ញុំ ផលិតផលស្រវឹងខ្ញុំ។

  7. Chorn Sokun says:

    How many beer, wine imported? How many local product? Drink ads become normal seem like encourage teenagers to drink what the f*ck with RGC policy?

  8. I like the design of Phnom Penh beer’s can. It looks pro and gorgeous!! gonna taste Beer Lao too since i have been told by many that it tastes great!!

Leave a Reply

