Ta Mok House, Anlong Veng

Posted: April 2, 2009 in Travel
Tags: , ,

The visit to Anlong Veng of Odor Meanchey Province last week made Preah Vihear and Palin are the only two provinces for me to complete my nationwide visit. Located 118 km north of Siem Reap, it can be reached in about 2 hours by car along the National Road 67 that was recently smoothly paved. The dusty and poor town of Anlong Veng was home to Khmer Rough stronghold until 1998. This has drawn foreign and local visitors with interest in Cambodian contemporary history. Commonly visited sights are House and Grave of Ta Mok (Brother No 5), Pol Pot’s Residence, Cremation Site of Pol Pot. About 20 km from the town is Choam Srawngam border crossing.

As I did not have much time, I only dropped a short visit to Ta Mok House before heading back to Siem Reap on the same day.

090401tamok1Overall view of Ta Mok House.

090401tamok2 Inside of Ta Mok House. Trees were used as pillars.

090401tamok3 View from Ta Mouk House. The artificial lake were created on Ta Mok’s order and the mountain at the rear is Dang Rek mountain range. Cross over the mountain range is Thai border.

Comments
  1. Samphors~* says:

    I thought the house was concret and alot bigger than this.

  2. Hmm…. this is a holiday house, I reckon? He had more than one house eh?

  3. tumnei says:

    This is the house, and there is another one Lonely Planet calls residence. I am not sure what the different, but Residence sounds bigger, rite.

  4. According to the picture it said Ptas Somrak which it appears to me that it refers the place as a Holiday House, as you could see that’s what I suggested at the first place. Yeah, that should be a holiday house according to the size. lolz

    I have been to the residence house of him in …. (help me to fill the blank) it has been more than 10 years that’s why I could not recall exactly where it is.

  5. so interesting, i was at that place last four years.

Leave a Reply

