Norry- Bamboo Train of Cambodia

Posted: November 4, 2009 in Travel
Tags: , ,

Norry is very well advertised both in guidebooks and at hotels or guesthouses frequented by tourists. It is even included in the top ten experiences highlighted by well-loved Lonely Planet, and was my last experience amongst the ten. An approximate one hour ride can cause you about 15 bucks per lorry if you are a tourist. Khmers will receive some discount, 8 dollars in my case. Since it became a big tourism draw in Battambang, I guess the locals can generate pretty good incomes from the service. If the project to bring back Cambodia train is on tracks, this service will come to an end in a few years from now.

DSC_3700s
It is faster than I thought. The driver said there are failures sometime. No guarantee.

DSC_3724sA Lorry from opposite direction. As an unspoken rule, when two nollies reaches intersection on this single track, the norry with less passengers or loads need to be dismantled and make the way for the heavier one to move on.

DSC_3770sWe got off at the same place where we started the ride. It is a returned trip.

Comments
  1. didn’t know such mean of transportation! looks great fun!

  2. Phossdey says:

    I absolutely had no idea this thing exist. What’s a shame! Now, if I could give a ride before it’s gone. ^_^

    It is such a great gift you have posted this one.

  3. Sothy says:

    Very nice. I want to try this train. Looks so much fun.

  4. Try it! It won’t hurt at all!

  5. Sophat says:

    I tried it a few years back and it was pretty amazing.

  6. tumnei says:

    Riding it was my main purpose of visiting Battambang this time.🙂

  7. Pou Barang says:

    Nice pictures as usual.

    Hope I could try this in few months, during my next journey in Cambodia.

    I also would like to inform you that I used your pictures on a french discussion forum: http://www.ackf.fr/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=1253&p=2870#p2870

    Hope to see you soon.

  8. សុភា says:

    I used to hear about that quite long time. Look so fun. But it is quite scare when the train arrive. Fortunatly at Cambodia the train not too fast.

  9. tumnei says:

    I have never heard it crashes with a train, though it a bit scary and apparently there were some derailing accidents. But it is one of experiences you hard to find somewhere else.😀

    • សុភា says:

      I don’t know too. គ្រាន់តែធ្លាប់លឺគ្រូ និងចាស់ចាស់នៅភូមិគាត់និយាយប្រាប់កាលនៅតូចៗ

  10. Joie says:

    Just desire to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clarity in your post is simply spectacular and i could assume
    you are an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated
    with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep
    up the gratifying work.

Leave a Reply

