The Chapel of the Sisters of Providence Hospice

Posted: March 14, 2010 in Architecture
Tags: , ,

After seeing the photos of the church in Globe’s November 2009 issue, I had tried to locate its whereabouts for months. Actually I had come very close to it for several times with my friend, but we could not find it. At last, today I was able to reach her. Sovann Philong, the Phnom Penh Post’s photographer, had commuted the area for several weeks and made some inspiring photos of the church and life of people living there.

According to the magazine, half of the 15 families living inside the Chapel have accepted payment to leave from a local developer, who plans commerce and arts center in the area.

The Chapel of the Sisters of Providence Hospice
The Chapel of the Sisters of Providence Hospice bathed in the late afternoon’s light.

The Chapel of the Sisters of Providence Hospice
A closer look at the Chapel’s cross.

The Chapel of the Sisters of Providence Hospice
I guess the place where these kids are playing was a part of the church compound.

Comments
  1. songsophorn says:

    hey guy, where are the photos on 7th March?

  2. The Shutter says:

    I never thought a church would exist in the Penh, but I’m glad Philong discovers it and share it to us through his work. I want to go there one day, hope they wont mind me also taking some pictures, especially inside.

    • tumnei says:

      French Cultural Center brought up the idea to Philong to make it as a project for the Photo Phnom Penh Festival. They also allowed me to take some photos inside. I may will share it later at flickr or here.

      • Shannon says:

        hey! you didn’t happen to be on the Khmer Architecture tour did you? I took the tour for the first time, with a visiting family member, and they include a stop at the church that morning. Sadly, the guide didn’t include much about the people living there, but focused more on the history of the building.

      • tumnei says:

        I have heard about the tour, but I have never joined it. It is good to have explanation from someone with good knowledge of its history. But we would not be able to spend time there as much as we wish when we are on a tour. I also did some chitchat with people living there.

  3. Phossdey says:

    Are they going to knock it down???????? Sadddddddddddddd

  4. Shannon says:

    Glad to hear you got a chance to speak more directly with the people. They stop at the old Chinese temple too and have more information on how and when people started living there as well. In particular, that a lot of the old wooden posts have been taken down for firewood but people save the stone pedestals for seats. I’m sure you could email the tour company for more details.

Leave a Reply

