The King and Queen of Fruits

Posted: May 8, 2010 in Travel
Tags: , ,

Durian and mangosteen are widely known in Southeast Asia as King and Queen of fruits respectively. However due it strong smell, the King enjoy less popularity than queen amongst foreigners outside the region. Personally I have never met any foreigner who does not like our queen. Both of the trees can be cultivated locally but in limited areas. Having eaten the fruits since I was small kids, I have just seen their trees with my own eyes during my trip to Kampot last week. I find mangosteen tree is more impressive and even springing, especially when you get right under the tree.

Mangosteen tree. Its leaves almost reach the earth. You need duck inside to see its trunk. The farmer said chicken like to sleep on the its tree brands during nighttime.

The look inside. Kids are picking the fruits for us.

If you have never seen it, here is the flower of durian.

The King of fruits: Durian

Comments
  1. tumnei says:

    It is for you, sis.😉

  2. leisure says:

    i love durian very much… good shot!

  3. I like the sweat mango best ….

  4. […] from:  The King and Queen of Fruits « A PHOTO DIARY By admin | category: fruits | tags: are-widely, asia-as-king, eating, enjoy-less, […]

  5. Phossdey says:

    Thank you bro! I never knew mangosteen is a queen fruit! hehehe thanks for sharing. But how can check get on on those brands??? I have never seen flowers of durain … it’s pretty! hahahaha

  6. s3iLa says:

    Ahhh me too I’ve never known that mangosteen is a queen fruit. Are u sure Phal?

  7. Phossdey says:

    i mean chicken! lolz

  8. tumnei says:

    Look like the queen is not widely know.

    @ Seila: Maybe you should find a reference proving it is not true.😉

    @ Sis: The some tree brands are low enough for chicken to fly over.

  9. bookjunkie says:

    this is amazing…i have always wanted to go to a durian plantation..it’s my fave fruit!

Leave a Reply

