The Preah Suramarit National Theater

Posted: May 21, 2010 in Architecture, unposted
Tags:

The Preah Suramarit National Theater opened in 1968 was one of the greatest buildings designed by Cambodian renowned architect, Vann Molyvann. Though it could survive the civil wars, it was threatened by development and was ripped down in 2008 along with the building of Council Ministers designed by the same architect.

While I am going through some photos I took several years back, I found these photos of the former National Theater taken in late 2005. I would surely visit it again, if it still has been standing there. I am happy that at least I took some photos of them, but I wish I had taken more and better photos.

It used to be a landmark structure of Phnom Penh

A look of interior part.

It ceased to function after the fire during the renovation efforts in 1994.

Comments
  1. I remember going there as a kid to see performances. It was such an amazing place.

  2. leisure says:

    i like the first photo!

  3. Phossdey says:

    there is a true taste of design there …

  4. s3iLa says:

    WHere is it”? ehhh I can’t think any….

  5. s3iLa says:

    AHHHH just after you’ve mentioned, I remember now!

  6. heng says:

    thanks for posting these pictures.. I hope it’s still there so I could have a chance to have a look at this great architectural structure and prob. take some picture.. but i guess it’s never gonna happen.

Leave a Reply

